Oklahoma Car Accident Laws [2024 Updated]

On average, there are around 2,000 serious injuries every year in Oklahoma that result from car accidents. Following a car accident, it is important that drivers understand some of the basics of Oklahoma car accident laws. Minor wrecks can often be resolved through filing claims with car insurance companies.

However, when driver negligence or misconduct leads to an injury or death, the victims or survivors of the deceased person can hire a personal injury lawyer to demand a fair settlement offer from the insurance company or start a claim against the driver.

Car Accident Law Basics

The majority of laws that impact drivers in Oklahoma can be found in Title 47 of the state’s statutes. Oklahoma law requires drivers to exercise reasonable care when driving to avoid harming other drivers on the road. Reasonable care is a legal standard that means the care any reasonable person would take when operating a motor vehicle.

Oklahoma is an at-fault state. This means that the driver who is at fault for causing a car accident is responsible for paying for the damages they caused. In other states, both drivers are expected to file claims with their insurance company regardless of who caused the accident.

Oklahoma’s Modified Comparative Fault Rule

Oklahoma is a modified comparative fault state. If a plaintiff is 50% or more at fault for an accident, they cannot seek damages. If someone is less than 50% at fault for causing an accident, they can seek a percentage of damages.

Drivers are required to carry insurance policies that meet the state’s minimum requirements. The minimum liability coverage is 25/50/25. This means that all drivers must have policies that pay $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 in coverage for property damage protection.

Following an accident, Oklahoma drivers have the right to seek legal representation. An Oklahoma car accident attorney can help victims seek fair settlements from insurance companies. If the insurance settlement is insufficient, legal action can be taken against the at-fault driver.

Legal Grounds for Suing a Negligent Driver

If you were injured in a car accident that someone else caused, you have the right to pursue a fair settlement offer from the at-fault driver’s insurance company. Insurance companies are notorious for trying to skirt paying a fair settlement, which is why hiring an experienced personal injury lawyer is important. Your attorney can represent you and negotiate a fair settlement offer for you.

If the settlement offer does not cover all of your medical and other injury-related expenses, you may have legal grounds for filing a personal injury claim. Oklahoma personal injury laws allow injured parties to sue the people who caused their injury. For injured drivers and passengers, it could mean suing the driver or the company they work for. Whatever recourse you take, relying on an experienced personal injury lawyer can improve the chances of a favorable settlement.

Your personal injury lawyer can review the facts of your case to establish whether you meet the legal standard required to pursue a personal injury claim. Whether you believe you have met that standard or not, it is often beneficial to at least schedule a consultation with one or more attorneys to see what your options might be.


Q: Is Oklahoma a No-Fault State for Car Accidents?

A: No. Oklahoma is an at-fault state for car accidents. This means that the person who caused an accident is responsible for the damage. The person who caused the accident pays for car repairs and medical expenses for the injured party through car insurance. If the insurance is not sufficient to pay for all of the damages, the victim has the option of suing the at-fault driver.

Q: Do You Have to Call the Police After a Minor Car Accident in Oklahoma?

A: No, you don’t have to call the police after a minor car accident, but you can just do so as a precaution. However, the police are unlikely to send officers or emergency medical personnel for minor car accidents that do not involve injuries. If you are in a serious accident near a busy stretch of road that requires vehicles to be towed and medical personnel to handle injuries, calling the police should be one of your first courses of action following a car or truck accident.

Q: Do I Have to Have Automobile Insurance in Oklahoma?

A: Yes, you have to have automobile insurance; Oklahoma requires all drivers to have auto insurance. State laws mandate a minimum liability amount for legal drivers. This may often fall short when covering accident expenses. In Oklahoma, the minimum liability coverage is 25/50/25, meaning $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage.

Q: Who Is at Fault in a Rear-End Collision in Oklahoma?

A: In many cases, the person at fault for a rear-end collision is the driver behind the vehicle that was hit. Drivers are expected to maintain a safe distance from the car or vehicle in front of them. There are exceptions that law enforcement or insurance companies may consider. Broken tail lights on the front vehicle or reckless driving on the part of the driver who was rear-ended may shift blame from the driver who rear-ended the other driver.

Q: What Is the Average Settlement for a Car Accident in Oklahoma?

A: The average settlement for a car accident in Oklahoma will vary considerably based on factors that could include the damage caused, negligence of the at-fault party, and other factors. In general, car accidents caused by negligent driving that lead to significant bodily injury of one or more victims are grounds for higher settlement amounts.

Schedule Your Car Accident Personal Injury Consultation Today

An unexpected automobile collision can leave victims injured and upset at the at-fault party. Reckless and distracted driving can have catastrophic consequences for people who are hurt in the resulting accidents. You can hold the at-fault party accountable by understanding Oklahoma’s driving laws and by hiring a personal injury lawyer who understands the state’s personal injury laws.

The team at 222 Injury Lawyers has helped many clients receive monetary compensation following a car accident. To schedule your consultation, contact our office today.

Oklahoma City Office

222 Injury Lawyers, PLLC
3030 NW Expressway, Suite 200
Oklahoma City, OK 73112

Request a Free Consultation
We Don’t Get Paid Until You Do

Fields Marked With An * Are Required

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Tulsa Office

222 Injury Lawyers, PLLC
1217 E 33rd St.
Tulsa, OK 74105

*Please send all mail correspondence to this location